Cabaret Revival: Studio 54, Alan Cumming, and a New Miss Bowles.

Life is a Cabaret, old chum…..

Like any good child of the theatre and at one time musical theatre major (before I threw off the extreme anxiety I face when singing in public for the coziness of crying and dying on command and memorizing words instead musical notes, the majority of the time anyways) I freaking love Cabaret. I really only watch the movie once every 3-4 years, because quite frankly as wonderful as it is, it makes me feel very, very dirty and I yell. A lot. At Sally Bowles. Because she pisses me off.

Broadway, though. THAT is where the magic is. I have a wonderful copy of “Wilkommen” on a dvd, Broadways Best at the Tony’s, I think that I used to watch over and over. I went about the house singing Cabaret a lot before I started undergrad school. Cabaret is just one of those shows, it doesn’t matter how many times you see it done, in how many different theatres, by how many different Sallys and Emcees, it is magic.

But it is also dark. It is one of the darkest shows that has made it big in Broadway history. But for some reason, we keep coming back for more, which is exactly what is happening at the beginning of 2014. Broadway is coming back for more and at Studio 54 none the less. Using Studio 54 to house the infamous Kit Kat Club is quite a social remark in and of itself. Studio 54 was infamous for the wild nights and extravagant parties of the late 70′s and its history hearkens to an upscale kind of Kit Kat Club, really.

Then there’s the wonderful Master of Ceremonies. Call me late to the party, but I first really made Alan Cummings’ acquaintance when he began hosting Masterpiece Classic just as I was about to graduate High School. His remarkable voice, playful, yet sophisticated demeanor and that way he quirks his eyebrow, oh my! Later I saw (via the lovely internet) appear in various things such as his first Cabaret appearances, his appearance in The Threepenny Opera and who could forget those ass-less chaps in The L Word. He has such a huge personality and is such an ultimate performer, I am so thrilled to see he will be reprising his role in Cabaret.

Now for Miss Bowles. I’m going to be perfectly honest: I really don’t know very much about Michelle Williams body of acting work, but she has never been an actor that grabbed my attention. She definitely has the look to play Sally, though and I am looking forward to seeing how she handles this iconic role and hopefully being pleasantly surprised.

Now I wonder how different the look of the show will be, if they will stick with a similar theme in costuming and design or go a completely new way than before.

Alan Cumming in Cabaret

Further casting news is due to be released soon and you can read more about the revival here: http://www.broadway.com/buzz/171549/willkommen-cabaret-starring-michelle-williams-and-alan-cumming-sets-broadway-dates-at-studio-54/

Till next time,

Elena

Leave a Reply

